Tony Rice model still has unresolved issues after 3 setups by several luthiers

Welcome to SCGC Players Forum Forums Ask Santa Cruz Guitar Company Tony Rice model still has unresolved issues after 3 setups by several luthiers

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Twangtown
      Participant

I have a 1998 Tony Rice model that has been an absolutely amazing instrument. As a professional musician, I have many nice acoustic guitars in my arsenal but I have played my Santa Cruz almost exclusively since I got it; I have 3 Martins and it really surpasses them all. It has been the livliest guitar, sounding like a cannon and requiring very little effort to play. I can’t tell you how many times I have used it in either a recording session or at a gig and have received comments on the tone and sustain.  As I play a lot of traditional and bluegrass music, it has really been the perfect instrument for me.