Open tunings with H and OMG

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      SCGClover
      Participant

Open tuning question with a long intro.  I had a luthier built 00 that was made in the ‘90s, and when I went through my Michael Hedges obsession, I started playing with wacko tunings and heavier strings… and tore the bridge off… twice.  Really.  The maker said that if I was going to treat the guitar like that he was going to stop fixing it under warranty.  Fast forward to now, my primary guitar is my SCGC H-12 mahog, and it is the stuff dreams are made of… but I am afraid to fool with tunings and percussion as I don’t want to hurt it.  I saw the Eric Skye interview, and he said that is the only model guitar he owns, and he does altered tunings.  I had been planning to buy something bigger and badder for tuning and slapping.  Is the H-12 up to it, or should I add an OMG or something?  In an ideal world I would own one guitar, in a practical world I own too many already.  Thanks for your thoughts.

indexless
        Keymaster

Greetings SCGCLover,

Welcome, I’m sure you’ll get some answers here. I’ve worked with Eric for about 9 years and he gets a whole lot of sound out of his Signature model.

I hope you have access to a local guitar store that is a Santa Cruz Dealer. The best thing to do is play a lot of them, each one has been kissed by angels and the Maestro in their own special way.

Enjoy your search and again, Welcome!

Acoustic Soul
          Participant

I can let you know that my OM Grand is excellent at dropping tension and altered tunings and heavier strings!  I’d think the H would be fine though.  I wrote a thing when I was at Berklee with my H13 in open tuning

• This reply was modified 3 years, 10 months ago by Acoustic Soul.
            tadol
            Senior Moderator