Humidity!!

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Dannymeeg
      Participant

Hey folks,

Over here in Ireland, the humidity is usually perfect for guitars (in or around 50%). We had a cold dry winter so I had to buy a humidifier.

This morning, the sun was beaming into the guitar room and the hygrometer was showing 32% so I stuck the humidifier on but forgot to turn it off. Walked into the room and hour and I was greeted by a dense mist and the hygrometer flashing red lights! It was 92% – ahhhhh!!

I immediately turned on the dehumidifier to take down the humidity gradually. My guitars are all relatively new… Does it take long for humidity to have an affect on a newish guitars?

Many thanks!

• This topic was modified 2 years, 9 months ago by Dannymeeg.
        Anonymous

I am not an expert. My experience is with the mid-west climate in the U.S. Here we have large swings often. My experience is that it takes a bit of time to hear the humidity effect in either direction. I would put it at about 24 hours +/-.  I am interested to hear what others think.

bert
          Participant

+1 on what Mr Jelly said, It is a much talked about topic with acoustic guitars. Guitar shops, builders, etc install high end systems to keep humidity in line. For the home not so much is needed.

I live in the Atlanta area which can be very humid. I have a Frigidaire 50pt room dehumidifier (see pic) for high humidity during the spring and fall. The air conditioning in the summer and the heat during the winter do a good job, most of the time. In the winter I can turn on the whole house humidification system as part of the heating system if needed.

I have a couple of Ambient Weather, low cost home hygrometers which I check the readout often.
            There are as many methods of managing humidity as there are players seems to me.
            Bert

Dannymeeg
            Participant